Winnipeg Architecture Foundation



École Varennes

Address:22 Varennes Avenue
Original Use:Education
Other Work:Significant additions of a north wing (1953)
Classrooms and a gymnasium on the south side (1959)
Architects:Smith, Munn, Carter, Katelnikoff (including the additions)
Firms:Smith, Munn, Carter, Katelnikoff

More Information

Opened with 236 students in 1951, École Varennes' enrolment peaked in 1961 at 711 students; Varennes became a French immersion facility in 1984 and currently has a student populatin in kindergarten to Grade 8 of 280 students.

Design Characteristics

  • Concrete and steel construction of six original classrooms, a modest multi-purpose room and six more classrooms were added in 1953 and a second storey academic wing with labs and a gym with a gallery were added in 1959
  • Its plan is U'shaped with stark walls of white stucco except for gym wing in red brick; the plain windows are modest in size with metal screens.
  • The wall facing its yard features a lively mural; the landscaped grounds contain a play strcuture and its fields are used in agreement with City Recreation programs