|Address:||1720 John Brebeuf Place|
|Other Work:||Additions including 1960 and 1963, with a more recent addition|
|Architects:||Winnipeg School Division, In-house|
|Contractors:||1955, Arlington Brothers|
1960, Ole's Construction Co.
1963, G. Mida Construction
École J. B. Mitchell honours the name of the man who designed schools for the division for many years and whose professionalism had a strong influence on the development of education in the province.
It is an elementary school now offering French immersion to elementary students but was for many years a junior high school; when the neighboring John Dafoe School closed in 1991, J. B. Mitchell was renovated to received the younger students.
The original school had 11 classrooms plus 2 science labs, music, art, library with conference room, and workroom, 2 staff rooms, principal-secretary, vice-principal suite of offices, counsellor’s room, supply room, janitors office and storage and sink room, washrooms, auditorium gymnasium (with 2 storage rooms), 2 directors offices, 2 washrooms, medical office.
In 1960, they added 4 classrooms plus a general purpose room. The 1963 addition included 4 classrooms plus 2 science rooms, clothing lab, food lab, 2 staff rooms, conference room, washrooms and courtyard.
|Suburb:||J. B. Mitchell, River Heights|